You are a child of God.

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, ‘Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous?’ Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

-Marianne Williamson

 

I first read this quote about 8 years ago when I was in undergrad. The first part summed up exactly what I was feeling at the time– scared not of failing, but of how successful I might be. Failure is safety. It’s a known quantity, it’s predictable, and best of all, it lowers expectations. Success, however, is the opposite of safe and predictable. Nevermind the increased expectations, success opens the possibility for everything to change, in a way that failure just doesn’t. No one says “wow, you’re just so terrible at this, you should go do it for a living!” or, “you’re awful, will you work for me?” or, “come study at our school, you’re the worst we’ve ever seen!”

The second thing I’m noticing about this is: it’s interesting how we can revisit something that we’ve read years earlier, and we see different things in it than we did before, because we’re a different person than we were then. I don’t know that I feel that fear as strongly as I did back then. It’s definitely in a different place than before.

Have you ever felt as Marianne describes?

One thought on “You are a child of God.

  1. Indeed I have. I will freely admit there was a time in my life when I felt unworthy of God’s love. I felt as though my sins were so great God would never grant me His grace and mercy. He would have no compassion for me. He would never lift me up from the burdens of the world.

    I dragged myself along to the point of going from humility before the Lord to the role of a victim before the All Mighty. I was ashamed and embarrassed of whom I had become. There was no way the Father would ever care about me.

    In Luke 12:6-7 of the Common English Bible Jesus says to his disciples “Aren’t five sparrows sold for two small coins? Yet not one of them is overlooked by God. Even the hairs on your head are counted. Don’t be afraid. You are worth more than many sparrows.”

    Now someone may ask what does that have to do with me. Jesus is speaking to his disciples. I say to you if you consider yourself a Christian than you are also a disciple of Christ. They are both one and than same. To know that I have more worth than many sparrows let’s me know I have some value to God.

    In Psalm 139:13-14 in the Common English Bible David writes about God ” You are the one who created my innermost parts; you knit me together while I was still in my mother’s womb. I give thanks to you that I was marvelously set apart. Your works are wonderful-I know that very well.”

    Let us focus on the latter portion of that scripture. David tells God His works are wonderful. If we believe the Lord created the world and everything inside it than we believe all of His creations are wonderful. This includes us. If God had a hand in shaping us in our mother’s womb. If we are His children, then we are indeed wonderful.

    If God so loved the world He gave us his one and only Son Christ Jesus to bare our sins and die on the cross for the sake of our salvatiion then we deserve to live. We deserve to live an upright life always one step closer to God than the day before. We deserve to walk with our chins held high, our spines fully erect, and our shoulders rolled back. Worthy is the Lamb and worthy are the people he sacrificed Himself for. Past. Present. Future.

    When we see this within ourselves we will see the same within everyone. Then we may live for God and serve one another through acts of kindenss, love, grace, compassion, and mercy. What goes around comes around when it comes to the gifts of our Father. He will shower us with these things when we realize He loves us and that we are worthy of His love.

Leave a comment